Is it worth it? · Reviewed October 22, 2026
Is there an age limit for pet insurance? Enrollment ages for dogs and cats
Many pet insurers state no upper age limit for enrolling a dog or cat, but several stop offering new accident-and-illness cover at a set age. In the statements we read on October 22, 2026, the cut-offs include illness cover only before the 9th birthday, dogs under 8 and cats under 10, enrollment before the 14th birthday, and accident-only cover from age 15. Minimum ages are usually 6 to 8 weeks. And no upper limit does not mean full coverage, because an older pet brings a longer record of pre-existing conditions.
This guide collects the enrollment ages the 19 companies in our directory state on their own pages, shows how many of them would accept a new accident-and-illness enrollment at ages 7, 10, 14 and 15 on those statements, and explains the age rules that sit inside policies: age-gated plan types, age-based premiums and promises about not dropping older pets. It ranks no insurer and recommends none.
What the companies in our directory state about age
NAIC's pet insurance topic page puts it simply: some insurance companies will not accept pets after a certain age. The table shows which ones say so, and at what age, in directory order. Each row summarises the company's own page or sample policy as read on October 22, 2026, except where marked as a directory record. Where a company does not state a figure on the pages we could read, the table says so rather than guessing.
| Insurer | Youngest age stated | Upper age stated | Age rules inside the policy |
|---|---|---|---|
| AKC Pet Insurance | 8 weeks dogs, 10 weeks cats, where a state requires it | No maximum age for enrollment | Pets over nine years of age are eligible for accident coverage only |
| ASPCA Pet Health Insurance | 8 weeks | No upper age limit | Says it does not limit or reduce coverage for older cats; premiums may change with age |
| Embrace | Not stated on pages read | Accident and illness for pets under 15 | Pets 15 and over can take accident-only cover; a vet exam within 12 months before the start date is required, or cover is accident-only until one is done |
| Fetch | 6 weeks | No upper age limit | Price depends on age, breed and location |
| Figo | 8 weeks (dog page) | No upper age limit (dog page); cat page does not state | Sample calls for senior wellness testing as advised from age 8 for dogs and 10 for cats |
| Healthy Paws | 8 weeks | Not stated on pages read | Hip dysplasia covered only if enrolled before age 6; required exam window depends on whether the pet is 5 and under or 6 and over |
| Lemonade | Not stated on the pages read Oct 22, 2026 | Has an age limit; figure not published on pages read | Puppy and kitten preventative package only for pets under 2 |
| ManyPets (US) | Not applicable | Not applicable | Company says it has paused new US sales and renewals |
| MetLife Pet | 8 weeks (puppy page) | No upper age restrictions | Family plan has its own age limits; not printed on the official pages read Oct 22, 2026 |
| Nationwide | 6 weeks (Major Medical); 8 weeks (modular plan) | Major Medical: 9 and younger; modular illness cover: 8 and younger | Older pets on the modular plan are limited to accident cover |
| Odie | 7 weeks | No upper age limit on current policy | An older product, no longer sold, covered 8 weeks to 14 years |
| PetPartners | 8 weeks dogs, 10 weeks cats | Illness cover only if enrolled before the 9th birthday | Accident-only cover has no maximum age |
| Pets Best | 7 weeks | No upper age limit | Accident-only plan offered for pets with severe chronic conditions |
| Prudent Pet | Not stated on pages read | Says it never denies coverage based on age or breed | None found beyond standard terms |
| Pumpkin | 8 weeks | No upper age restrictions | States no reduction of coverage as a pet ages |
| Rainwalk | Not stated on pages read | New policies: dogs under 8, cats under 10 | If enrolled by 7 (dogs) or 9 (cats) with no lapse, no drop or rate rise because of claims; rates can change with age at renewal |
| Spot | 8 weeks | No upper age limit | Premium affected by age each year |
| Trupanion | From birth (puppy page) | Enrollment before the 14th birthday | Puppy page says no rate increases just because your pet has a birthday |
| Wagmo | Not stated on pages read | Not stated on pages read | Premiums can increase over time as a pet ages |
Read on October 22, 2026 from each company's FAQ, plan, puppy, kitten or senior pages, or sample policy. Cells marked not stated were not printed on the pages read. Availability varies by state. Confirm the ages that apply to your pet when you get a quote.
Cats are not small dogs on the age table
Several rules in the table differ by species, and they cut in both directions. Rainwalk's new-policy limit is two years higher for cats (under 10) than for dogs (under 8), and its no-drop promise applies to cats enrolled by 9 against dogs enrolled by 7. At the young end, AKC and PetPartners state 10 weeks as the minimum for kittens against 8 weeks for puppies. And Figo's dog page states no upper age limit, while its cat page, as we read it, gives no figure at all.
The practical consequence is that a cat owner should not rely on a dog-focused summary of age rules, including the general one in this guide's opening. Check the species-specific page or the sample policy, and ask the age question for a cat explicitly. The indoor cat guide covers the broader worth-it question for cats.
How many of these companies would take a new enrollment at each age?
Applying each company's own stated rule to a pet of a given age gives a rough map of how options narrow. The count below is this site's arithmetic on the statements in the table: it counts companies whose statements allow new accident-and-illness enrollment at that age, and treats a company as unknown where it states no figure. It is not a promise that any company will accept a particular pet, since underwriting, health history and state availability still apply.
| Age at enrollment | Dogs: statements allow A&I enrollment | Cats: statements allow A&I enrollment | Who drops out at this age, on their own statements |
|---|---|---|---|
| 7 | 15 of 19 (3 unknown, 1 not selling) | 14 of 19 (4 unknown, 1 not selling) | None yet; Figo states no cat figure |
| 10 | 11 | 10 | AKC (accident only after 9), Nationwide (9 and younger), PetPartners (before 9th birthday), Rainwalk (dogs under 8, cats under 10) |
| 14 | 10 | 9 | Trupanion (before 14th birthday) |
| 15 | 9 | 8 | Embrace (accident and illness under 15) |
Two things stand out. First, the sharpest drop comes around age 9 to 10, where four companies' statements close new illness enrollment. Second, even at 15, nine companies state no upper limit for dogs. So the honest answer to "is my old dog too old to insure?" is usually no on paper. The harder question is what the policy will cover once the record is read, which the next sections address.
CoverMyBreed count, checked October 22, 2026, from the statements in the table above. Unknowns are Healthy Paws, Lemonade and Wagmo (no upper age figure found), plus Figo for cats. Not a ranking and not an eligibility decision.
No upper age limit is not the same as full coverage
A company that accepts a 12-year-old dog will still read its veterinary record, and every condition with recorded signs, advice or treatment before the policy starts is pre-existing under the usual definition. The NAIC Pet Insurance Model Act (#633) defines a pre-existing condition as one for which, before the effective date or during a waiting period, a veterinarian gave medical advice, the pet received treatment, or verifiable sources show signs directly related to it (Section 3F). An older pet has had more years for those entries to accumulate. Nationwide's FAQ makes the same point in plain words: if you are enrolling an older dog in a medical plan for the first time, certain things may be excluded as pre-existing.
So the value of a late policy depends on what is left to insure. For a senior cat with a clean record, the main future risks, such as the kidney disease that the cat kidney disease guide covers, may still be insurable. For a senior dog whose record already notes arthritis, a heart murmur and a dental problem, the policy may effectively cover only new accidents and illnesses unrelated to any of them. Read the pre-existing conditions decoder with your pet's record open before you judge a quote for an older animal.
Age inside the policy: plan types, conditions and exams
Age limits are not only about whether you can enroll. Several companies use age to decide what kind of cover you can have, and those rules are easy to miss.
Accident-only as the older-pet route
AKC states that pets over nine are eligible for accident coverage only. Embrace states that pets 15 and over can be covered by an accident-only policy but not full accident and illness cover. PetPartners states that its accident-only cover has no maximum age while illness cover requires enrollment before the 9th birthday, and Nationwide's modular plan limits older pets to accident cover. An accident-only policy pays nothing for illness, which is most of what older animals see the vet for; the accident-only vs accident-and-illness guide shows what that leaves out.
Conditions that depend on enrollment age
Healthy Paws states that hip dysplasia is covered only for pets enrolled before age six. That is an example of a condition-level age gate: the policy itself has no upper age limit on the pages we read, but one of the conditions large breeds fear most depends on how old the dog was at enrollment. Ask every company whether any condition is restricted by enrollment age.
Exams required at enrollment
Embrace's disclosure requires a veterinary exam within 12 months before the policy start date, or cover is limited to accidents until an exam is done. Healthy Paws describes a tighter exam window for pets aged six and over than for younger pets. Under Model Act Section 4F, where a state enacts it, an insurer that requires an exam must disclose that the exam documentation may result in a pre-existing condition exclusion. For an older pet, that exam is the moment the record is refreshed, so book it knowing what it is for.
Premiums and age: what companies disclose
Most companies in the table say price depends partly on age, and several state plainly that premiums may increase as a pet gets older. The Model Act does not ban age-based pricing. Section 4A(4) requires the insurer to disclose whether it reduces coverage or increases premiums based on claim history, the age of the covered pet, or a change of location. Ask for that disclosure in writing, because it tells you how the price of a late policy is likely to move. When a renewal does jump, the guide to why pet insurance went up splits the increase into its age, rate-filing and plan parts.
A few companies make promises in the other direction. Trupanion's puppy page says there are no rate increases just because your pet has a birthday. Rainwalk's disclosure says that if a dog is enrolled by age 7 or a cat by age 9 and the policy does not lapse, it will not drop coverage or raise the rate because reimbursable claims were submitted, while noting rates can change with age at renewal. Healthy Paws says premium increases are not based on individual claim submissions. ASPCA says it does not limit or reduce coverage for older cats, and Pumpkin states no reduction of coverage as a pet ages. Each of these is worded differently and none is a fixed price; read the exact wording before relying on it.
Enrolling at different ages: what to weigh
The cards describe what tends to change with the age at enrollment. They are prompts for your own reading, not a recommendation for your pet.
Puppy or kitten, 6 to 16 weeks
Minimum ages in the table run from birth to 10 weeks for cats at some companies. Enrolling as soon as eligible starts every waiting period while the record is nearly empty. The new puppy guide covers the first-year decision.
Adult, roughly 2 to 7
Almost every company in the table accepts enrollment. Watch condition-level age gates, such as hip dysplasia cover tied to enrolling before six at one company, if your breed is prone to them.
Approaching 8 to 9
This is where stated cut-offs start: dogs under 8 and cats under 10 at one company, illness cover before the 9th birthday at another, accident-only after nine at a third. If you are considering insurance at all, deciding before these birthdays keeps more options open.
Senior, 10 to 14
On the statements we read, ten or eleven companies still accept new accident-and-illness enrollment for dogs. The value depends on how much of the record is already pre-existing. Read the senior dog guide for the worth-it test.
Very senior, 15 and over
Nine companies state no upper age for dogs, and one offers accident-only cover from 15. Expect exclusions for every recorded condition and a premium that reflects age. A dedicated savings fund may cover more of what an old pet actually needs.
A worked timeline: what waiting one year costs in options
A labelled illustration with stated inputs. A healthy 8-year-old dog has a clean record. Its owner considers insurance now, or in a year.
Enrolling now at 8: on the statements in the table, the dog is still inside the stated age rules of every company that publishes one, except Rainwalk, whose new-policy limit for dogs is under 8. Any illness waiting period runs out while the dog is 8, and conditions that first appear after that are judged as new.
Enrolling at 9 instead: Nationwide's modular illness cover (8 and younger) has closed. PetPartners' illness cover requires enrollment before the 9th birthday, so it has closed too. At AKC, once the dog is over nine it is limited to accident cover, so that option closes during the year too. And during that year, a single vet visit for stiffness or a lump has added a dated entry that every remaining insurer will read as pre-existing.
The point is not that one company is better than another. It is that delay costs options in two ways at once: age rules remove companies, and the record removes conditions. Neither cost appears in a premium comparison.
Mistakes owners make with older pets and age limits
- Assuming "no upper age limit" means the policy will cover the conditions an older pet already has.
- Missing a birthday cut-off by a few weeks while comparing quotes. Check the exact wording: before the 9th birthday, under 8, over nine.
- Accepting accident-only cover without noticing that it excludes illness entirely.
- Letting a policy lapse to save money in a tight month, then finding the pet is now past a company's enrollment age.
- Not asking whether premiums rise with age, as Model Act Section 4A(4) asks insurers to disclose.
- Forgetting the cat. Several companies state different minimum ages, upper limits or plan rules for cats than for dogs.
Age limit questions
Is there an age limit for pet insurance?
It depends on the company. Many in this site's directory state no upper age limit, while others stop new accident-and-illness enrollment at set ages, such as before the 9th birthday, under 8 for dogs and under 10 for cats, before the 14th birthday, or under 15. Minimum enrollment ages are usually 6 to 8 weeks.
Can I get pet insurance for a 10-year-old dog?
Usually yes. On the statements we read on October 22, 2026, eleven of the 19 companies in our directory allow new accident-and-illness enrollment for a 10-year-old dog. Expect any condition already in the record to be excluded as pre-existing, and a premium that reflects age.
What is the youngest age a puppy or kitten can be insured?
Most companies in our directory state 7 or 8 weeks; a few state 6 weeks, one says from birth, and two state 10 weeks for kittens. Some state rules apply, so confirm the minimum for your pet when you get a quote.
Do pet insurance premiums go up with age?
At many companies, yes. Several state that premiums may increase as a pet ages, and the NAIC Model Act requires insurers in adopting states to disclose whether they raise premiums based on age. A few make narrower promises, such as no increase just because of a birthday. Read the exact wording.
Is accident-only insurance worth it for an old pet?
It covers injuries but not illnesses, and illness is most of what older pets see the vet for. Some companies offer accident-only cover to pets past their illness enrollment age. Weigh what it would actually pay for against setting the same money aside.
Will my insurer drop my pet when it gets old?
Two companies state they do not reduce or limit coverage as a pet ages, and one promises not to drop a pet or raise the rate because of claims if it was enrolled young enough and the policy never lapsed. In states that enact the NAIC Model Act, an insurer cannot require a vet exam to renew. Check your own policy's renewal terms.
Two dates to write down first
Write down your pet's exact date of birth and the date of the earliest entry in its veterinary record for any ongoing problem. Then compare those two dates with the age rules in the table and the pre-existing definition in each quote, using the line-by-line quote comparison. If your pet is a cat, the cats hub collects the cat-specific guides, and the worth-it guides take the decision by life stage. Get a live quote for your own pet before deciding, and confirm its enrollment age rule in writing.
Sources and verification
- Insurer pages and sample policies, 19 companies: Read on October 22, 2026: AKC FAQ; ASPCA senior cat and senior dog pages; Embrace FAQ, accident-only help article and disclosure form; Fetch coverage page; Figo dog page and sample; Healthy Paws puppy, kitten and FAQ pages; Lemonade FAQ and puppy-kitten package page; ManyPets US transition notice; MetLife Pet puppy page and FAQ; Nationwide all-products page and FAQ; Odie help center; PetPartners FAQ, plan and accident-only pages; Pets Best FAQ; Prudent Pet FAQ; Pumpkin home page; Rainwalk FAQ and disclosure; Spot FAQ; Trupanion oldest-age FAQ and puppy page; Wagmo help article. Lemonade minimum age and MetLife family plan limits from directory records verified October 21, 2026. Checked October 22, 2026.
- NAIC, Insurance Topics: Pet Insurance: Last updated April 16, 2025: some insurance companies will not accept pets after a certain age. Checked October 22, 2026.
- NAIC Pet Insurance Model Act (#633): Section 3F (pre-existing condition), Section 4A(4) (disclosure of premium or coverage changes based on age, claims or location), Section 4F (required exam disclosure) and Section 5C (no exam required to renew). The Act contains no rule allowing or banning age caps. A model for states, not a national law. Checked October 22, 2026.
Age rules are summarised from each company's own statements on the date read and can change or vary by state. The counts are this site's arithmetic on those statements, not eligibility decisions. Your quote and policy govern. Scope: US policies, US state regulators and the NAIC model, in US dollars. Canadian pet insurance follows provincial rules and differs.