Conditions and claims · Reviewed October 23, 2026
Luxating patella and pet insurance: the grade, the second knee, and the date the clock starts
Pet insurance can pay for luxating patella surgery, but only when the first kneecap sign appears after the policy's waiting period and the knee has no earlier record. In the insurer documents read for this guide, the same limp at three months of age is paid under one policy and permanently excluded under another.
The kneecap is a small-dog problem that insurers treat as a big-bill problem. Surgery is a bone and soft-tissue operation, one knee at a time, and the American College of Veterinary Surgeons says the condition affects both knees in half of all cases. That second fact is what turns a single claim into a clause dispute: if the first knee was on record before the policy began, several forms treat both knees as pre-existing.
One limp at three months, four policies
Take round numbers, not prices. A small dog is enrolled at 10 weeks. Each knee operation costs $4,000, the policy has a $500 deductible per policy year, 80 percent reimbursement and a $10,000 yearly limit, and each puppy below is the same dog with different dates.
Puppy A first skips at 5 months, about day 90 of the policy. Puppy B first skips at 10 months, then the other knee goes at 23 months. Puppy C is not insured until week 20, and the vaccination record from week 12 reads "patella laxity, grade 1, recheck." Each row applies the cited wording to those dates; it does not predict how any insurer will rule.
| Puppy and event | 14-day all-in-one wait (Spot, Wagmo style) | 180 day lifetime window (Embrace style) | Six month wall with exam route (Fetch, Prudent style) | Add-on gate (AKC style, no HereditaryPlus) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| A: first skip at day 90, surgery at day 120 | Past the 14 days, so a covered illness: (4,000 - 500) x 80% = $2,800 | Inside 180 days: patellar luxation is pre-existing for the life of the policy, $0 | Inside six months: pre-existing, $0, unless a qualifying exam was done in time (Fetch) or the waiver was filed in 30 days (Prudent) | Excluded as inherited, $0; with HereditaryPlus and its 30 day wait, $2,800 |
| B: first knee at 10 months, surgery in policy year 1 | Covered: $2,800 for the first knee | Covered: $2,800 | Covered: $2,800 | Excluded without the add-on, $0 |
| B: second knee at 23 months, next policy year | First knee was not pre-existing, so nothing carries over. New year, new deductible: $2,800 again. Owner pays $1,200 per knee | Same: $2,800 | Same: $2,800 | Same as the first knee |
| C: knee noted at week 12, policy from week 20, surgery at 9 months | Earlier note is a pre-existing record, and the bilateral wording reaches the other knee: $0 for either | The note falls before the effective date, so the exclusion applies: $0 | Pre-existing: $0 for the noted knee; other knee depends on whether the form is bilateral | Excluded as inherited and pre-existing: $0 |
Nine wordings for one kneecap
Each row is a distinct piece of wording that names the kneecap or the knee, in directory order. Spot and Wagmo publish the same text, so they share a row. Where a document is an older edition the row says so.
| Insurer and document | What it says about a luxating patella or the knee | Timing rule that applies |
|---|---|---|
| AKC Pet Insurance, North Carolina sample form IAIC PPI AI POL 007 NC 0421 | Excludes congenital and inherited conditions "including ... Luxating Patella" unless the optional HereditaryPlus coverage is bought; HereditaryPlus treats symptoms present before cover or during its wait as pre-existing | HereditaryPlus starts after its own 30 day wait; bilateral conditions seen on one side are pre-existing on both |
| Embrace, waiting period help article | Names patellar luxation among four dog conditions that, if they show signs before the illness wait ends or in the first 180 days, are "excluded from coverage and are pre-existing for the life of the policy" | 180 day orthopedic exclusion period for dogs; some states allow an Orthopedic Exam and Waiver Process to cut the period to as few as 14 days |
| Fetch, waiting period FAQ | Lists patellar luxation in its definition of orthopedic conditions; offers a waiver for knees | Six months for orthopedic conditions; a vet exam within 180 days of enrollment plus detailed records with the first claim waives the knee wait |
| Healthy Paws, FAQ | Gives "medial patellar luxation" as an orthopedic example of a condition that is not considered cured, so it cannot re-qualify as pre-existing-then-cured; hereditary conditions are eligible if signs first appear after the waiting period | 15 days from the effective date in most states; no separate knee wait is described |
| Lemonade, waiting period explainer | Names luxating patella as a hereditary condition that will not be reimbursed if noted or diagnosed before a waiting period is up | 30 days for orthopedic conditions, 14 days for illness |
| Nationwide, two older sample forms on petinsurance.com | Superior Plan form VS-21 (02-17) excludes "patellar luxation" with hip and elbow dysplasia among musculoskeletal disorders. Major Medical Plan form VS-G-3-CA (02-15) excludes "patellar luxation or subluxation" as a bone or joint condition, then pays up to $550 for surgery and $275 for medical treatment per policy term on a list of ineligible conditions | Nothing for the first 12 months of the Major Medical form; the allowance is a fixed ceiling, not a percentage. Current plans may differ |
| Prudent Pet, sample policy page | Excludes treatment of "luxation of the patella or other soft tissue disorders of the knee where clinical sign(s) occur during the first six (6) months that the policy is in effect" | Six months, waivable to 30 days with a vet orthopedic consent waiver submitted in the first 30 days |
| Spot and Wagmo, Arizona and Texas samples | Patella sits inside "Ligament and Knee Conditions", defined as bilateral and related regardless of cause; treated as illnesses; excluded from the cured-condition route | 14 days from the first effective date, the same period as other illnesses |
| Trupanion, policy form TRU-00001, August 2011 edition | Excludes a bilateral condition already pre-existing on the other side, naming luxating patella; lists luxating patella in the bilateral definition | Illnesses in the first 30 days are pre-existing; 18 month look-back before enrollment. Trupanion's current FAQ was not available, so confirm against your own form |
Each insurer's own sample form, FAQ or help page. Sample forms are state examples; your declarations page controls. Spot and Wagmo carry identical text. MetLife's waiting-period article does not name the kneecap but says it has no separate orthopedic wait. The pages read for ASPCA, Figo, Odie, PetPartners, Pets Best, Pumpkin and Rainwalk do not name it either; the Figo sample sets a six month orthopedic wait for dogs and defines orthopedic conditions to include ligaments and joints.
The second knee decides more claims than the first
ACVS: "Patellar luxation affects both knees in half of all cases." Insurers have written that biology into their definitions, and Embrace states the direction of the rule in its coverage FAQ: "if a pet has a pre-existing instance of a bilateral condition, we are not able to cover the condition on the other side. However, if a pet is diagnosed with one covered bilateral condition, we will also cover the condition if it occurs on the other side."
Spot and Wagmo reach the same place through their definition of "Ligament and Knee Conditions": conditions involving "a ligament, patella, meniscus or soft tissue disorder of the knee. These are considered bilateral conditions and related, regardless of cause; meaning an occurrence on one side of the body affects both sides of the body. These conditions are considered illnesses under this policy." The 180 day cured-condition route in those forms "does not apply to chronic conditions or ligament and knee conditions." AKC and the 2011 Trupanion form carry the same one-directional logic in the table above.
The expensive case is therefore the dog whose first knee was noted before the start date: its clean second knee can be excluded alongside it. If the first knee is clean and inside coverage there is nothing for the clause to carry across, and the second knee is another claim on a covered condition, limited by the annual limit and any per-condition cap.
Inherited disease: in the base policy, behind an add-on, or excluded
OFA says patellar luxation "should be considered an inherited disease", so the treatment of inherited conditions generally decides whether a kneecap can be claimed at all. The documents read fall into three structures.
| Structure | Insurer and wording | What it means for a kneecap |
|---|---|---|
| Covered in the base policy | Embrace's insurer disclosure (form INDPP 01/23): "Chronic Conditions, Hereditary Disorders and Congenital Anomaly or Disorders are covered under the policy as long as the Pet is not symptomatic prior to the Pet Original Start Date or during the Illness Waiting Period." Healthy Paws: hereditary and congenital conditions "are eligible for coverage so long as the signs and symptoms first manifest after enrolling, and after any applicable waiting periods." Fetch: "Breed-specific issues covered" | The date of the first sign decides the claim, as in the worked example |
| Covered in the base policy, with a stated list | Rainwalk's FAQ: "Illnesses or accidents that your pet may be prone to based on breed or genetics are eligible for reimbursement", subject to the pre-existing standards. Figo's sample lists "Genetic Conditions" among covered illnesses | Same test, but the orthopedic wait of the form also applies |
| Sold as an add-on | AKC: congenital and inherited conditions named in the exclusions, with luxating patella among them, unless HereditaryPlus is bought. PetPartners' plan page: "Hereditary and Congenital conditions (Unless you add on HereditaryPlus)" are excluded | No kneecap cover at all unless the add-on is on the declarations page |
| Excluded by name | Nationwide's older Superior Plan and Major Medical forms, which list patellar luxation among excluded musculoskeletal disorders | No cover, apart from a small fixed allowance on the 2015 form |
Wording as printed by each insurer; sample forms are state examples and the Nationwide forms are older editions.
Grades, and why the lowest one still reaches the claim file
OFA grades patellar luxation from 1 to 4. Grade 1: "Manually the patella easily luxates at full extension of the stifle joint, but returns to the trochlea when released." Grade 2: "There is frequent patellar luxation, which, in some cases, becomes more or less permanent." Grade 3 is permanent luxation "with torsion of the tibia", with crest deviation of 30 to 50 degrees; grade 4 is permanent luxation with the groove absent or convex and 50 to 90 degrees. ACVS says surgery is "most often considered in grades 2 and over" and that mild cases often cause no pain but can become quite painful as they progress.
So a grade 1 knee may never need an operation, which is why it is easy to dismiss and why it matters here: a skip mentioned at a vaccination visit is a veterinary record, and if it predates the policy or falls inside a waiting period, a later grade 3 knee is the same condition with an earlier date attached. OFA calls patellar luxation an inherited disease and says animals can be affected by eight weeks of age, about when many insurers first enroll a puppy. Its registry takes dogs from 12 months of age; an evaluation before then is recorded as a consultation, which a claims reviewer can still read.
The age at which the first sign is recorded varies by breed, and the breed profiles on this site carry the figures. In Chihuahuas, VetCompass recorded patellar luxation in 3.18 percent of dogs under 2, 4.45 percent from 2 to 7 and 4.52 percent over 7, so a knee problem is about as likely to be on record in a young dog as an older one and is often present at enrollment. In Pomeranians, the English primary-care study the profile cites put median age at first diagnosis across all breeds at 4 years, and in Yorkshire Terriers the 2025 VetCompass breed study put the median at 6.18 years. A Chihuahua is therefore the breed most likely to carry a dated sign into the policy; a Yorkshire Terrier is the one most likely to produce its first sign after years of premiums, when the second knee and the per-condition limit become the live questions.
Nor is it only a small-dog problem. OFA says lateral luxation in large and giant breeds shows a genetic pattern, naming Great Danes, St. Bernards and Irish Wolfhounds as the most commonly affected, and ACVS lists the Chinese Shar Pei, Flat-Coated Retriever, Akita and Great Pyrenees among large breeds now considered predisposed. The clauses in this guide apply to a big dog's knee in the same way; the bill is larger.
What the operation has cost, in the insurers' own numbers
ACVS lists four strategies and says the choice is made for each patient: reconstruction of the soft tissues around the kneecap, deepening the groove in the thigh bone, moving the tibial crest, and, for bowed thigh bones, cutting and correcting the bone with a plate. Complications such as implant migration or infection occur rarely and "Recurrence of kneecap instability is uncommon." Most animals need several weeks of rest and repeat X-rays are typically needed to check healing, so the invoice is a series of lines: exam and sedation, X-rays, blood work, surgery with anesthesia and hospital stay, medication, then a recheck. Primary veterinary sources print no prices. Three insurers do publish figures, and they measure different things.
| Source | Figure | What it is |
|---|---|---|
| MetLife Pet, owner page | "$1,000 to $5,000 per leg"; one claim of nearly $4,950 with close to $4,450 reimbursed | Insurer marketing range and one illustration; deductible and rate not stated |
| Trupanion, actual claims page (modified October 3, 2025) | $4,012 for "Patellar luxation: surgery and pain medications" | A figure the page describes as "from real Trupanion member claims"; it warns costs "can vary greatly from pet to pet" |
| Nationwide, 2015 Major Medical form | Up to $550 for kneecap surgery and $275 for medical treatment per policy term | A contractual ceiling for an excluded condition, nothing in the first 12 months |
The same operation shows as a marketing range, a claims figure and a policy ceiling that is a fraction of either. The $4,000 in the worked example is a round number, not a price.
Exam fees are their own question and are covered in the exam fees guide.
What counts as a sign, and who has to have seen it
The date that matters is the date the condition "occurred", and forms define that more widely than owners expect. The Spot and Wagmo samples define Occur as the moment "signs or symptoms related to a condition first were observed by any individual, recorded in your pet's medical record, or would have been detectable by a routine physical veterinary exam." The third limb is the one to read twice. A skip nobody noticed but a vet could have felt at a routine exam can be dated to that exam.
The NAIC Pet Insurance Model Act, adopted in Summer 2022, counts a condition as pre-existing when a vet advised on it, treated it, or verifiable sources show signs of it before the effective date or during any waiting period (Section 3F), and names patellar luxation among its orthopedic examples (Section 3D). Its 30 day ceiling on illness and non-accident orthopedic waiting periods is in Section 5B. Whether your state has adopted the Act is a question for your state insurance department, because the NAIC does not publish a count of adopting states.
Two practical consequences follow. A groomer's remark, a breeder's puppy record and a shelter intake note are not veterinary records, but a vaccination visit, a spay or neuter, and a dental scale and polish are. If a knee exam was done on any of those occasions, it will be in the file the first time a claim is opened. Insurers also ask for records for all vets the pet has seen; Healthy Paws, for example, says it will need the pet's full medical history with the first claim. The record is read in full, including the line that says the patellas were normal, and that line is useful too: it dates the knee as clean at a known point.
Four insurers describe a way through the orthopedic wall in their own documents. They differ in how soon the exam must happen, who has to file what, and how long the shortened wait is.
| Insurer | What the route asks for | Deadline | Result |
|---|---|---|---|
| Embrace | A vet exam after purchase; the vet completes the Orthopedic Report Card | Some states only; not stated as a number of days | Orthopedic wait cut to as few as 14 days in states that allow it |
| Fetch | A vet exam showing no relevant pre-existing condition, with detailed records ("SOAP notes") sent with the first claim | Exam within 180 days of enrollment | The knee wait is waived |
| Figo | An Orthopedic Waiver Form completed by a veterinary provider after an orthopedic exam | Form must reach Figo within 30 days of the effective date | The six month dog orthopedic wait is waived |
| Prudent Pet | A vet's orthopedic consent waiver | Completed and submitted within the first 30 days of the policy | The six month knee wait is reduced to 30 days |
Each is a route through a wait, and each makes the exam a record: whatever the vet finds is dated, and a finding on a knee that is not normal becomes the exclusion.
The deadlines are the trap. Fetch allows 180 days, Figo and Prudent Pet allow 30, and the Embrace page states none in days, so an owner who books a routine first visit in week six has missed two of the four windows without knowing they existed.
Where four small breeds sit
The breed profiles carry the figures. They come from OFA's disease statistics table and from VetCompass studies, and the premium column is a published research anchor from MoneyGeek's cost analysis, reviewed October 4, 2026.
| Breed | Recorded kneecap figures (as carried on the profile) | Published monthly anchor, not a quote |
|---|---|---|
| Chihuahua | OFA: 6.4 percent of 5,603 patella evaluations abnormal, ranked 22nd. VetCompass 2016: 4.0 percent, little change with age | $33 |
| Pomeranian | OFA: 29.2 percent abnormal (15.1 percent grade 1, 11.3 percent grade 2, 2.5 percent grade 3 in the grades shown) | $43 |
| Yorkshire Terrier | OFA: 17.0 percent of 3,201 abnormal, ranked 4th; VetCompass 2025 median age at diagnosis 6.18 years | $41 |
| Cavapoo | Owner-reported in the Bryson study: 3.4 percent, against 4.7 percent of Poodles and 5.4 percent of Cavaliers | $40 |
Premium anchors from MoneyGeek pet insurance cost analysis as shown on each profile: published research averages across plans and ages, not quotes. OFA percentages are shares of dogs evaluated by owners who chose to screen, so they are not population rates. Run your own dog through the breed tool for an anchor to judge a live quote against.
Questions about the second knee and the date
Can a dog with one operated knee be insured for anything else?
Yes. The kneecap and, on the bilateral wording above, its partner are excluded, but nothing in the documents read ties the rest of the dog to that condition. The Spot sample, for example, places "Ligament and Knee Conditions" in their own bilateral definition and covers other illnesses and accidents under the ordinary waits. Pets Best says a dog diagnosed before enrollment can still enroll, with no cover for those issues or issues related to them.
Does a kneecap that gave way during a jump count as an accident?
On some forms the cause does not remove the knee wait. Figo's coverage clause lists accidents but states that "Orthopedic Accidents are subject to the Orthopedic Waiting Period", and Embrace's waiting-period article says orthopedic accidents "may be subject to the full orthopedic waiting period." A sudden injury to a kneecap that was already unstable may also be read as the same condition on the record, which is why the date of the first sign still matters.
Is rehabilitation after kneecap surgery covered?
It depends on how the form treats therapy. The Spot sample lists alternative therapy among covered expenses when performed by a veterinarian or through referral to an individual certified in veterinary rehabilitation. AKC sells alternative and complementary therapies in its optional AlternativePlus coverage, which has a 30 day wait, and Figo sells a separate Rehabilitation and Physical Therapy rider. ACVS says most animals need several weeks of rest after surgery and that repeat X-rays are typically needed, so the follow-up invoices are worth asking about before the operation.
Does a registry result such as an OFA number help with an insurer?
OFA issues numbers only for dogs 12 months and over and treats earlier evaluations as consultations. A normal result at 12 months or later is a dated record that the knee was clean at that point, which can help if a question about onset arises. It does not create coverage and no insurer document read here treats it as a waiver.
Are exams and X-rays for a skip paid if the knee turns out to be excluded?
Usually not, because the diagnostics are treatment of a condition the policy has excluded. Some forms also exclude exam fees unless an add-on is chosen, as the AKC, Figo and Prudent Pet samples do. The sample policies read for this guide do not say that diagnostics for an excluded condition are repaid, so ask before assuming otherwise.
Why does a Pomeranian show 29 percent at OFA and 6.5 percent in English primary care?
They measure different populations. OFA's table counts dogs whose owners paid for a formal evaluation; the English primary-care study counts diagnoses recorded at ordinary vet visits in a sample of practices. The first is likely to overstate the general rate, since owners self-select, and the second can miss mild cases that never reach a vet. The insurer reads neither; it reads your dog's own record.
Sources and verification
- Orthopedic Foundation for Animals, Patellar Luxation: Grade 1 to 4 definitions and crest deviation figures; "should be considered an inherited disease"; evaluation from 12 months; affected by eight weeks of age. Checked October 23, 2026.
- American College of Veterinary Surgeons, Patellar Luxation: Both knees affected in half of cases; surgery most often considered in grades 2 and over; four surgical strategies; recurrence uncommon; recovery and repeat X-rays. Checked October 23, 2026.
- Spot Arizona accident and illness sample policy (PET-P-20000-1024): Ligament and Knee Conditions definition, Occur definition, 14 day waiting period, cured condition eligibility. Checked October 23, 2026.
- Wagmo Texas accident and illness sample policy: Same knee definition and cured-condition limits as the Spot sample. Checked October 23, 2026.
- AKC Pet Insurance North Carolina sample policy (form IAIC PPI AI POL 007 NC 0421): Inherited-condition exclusion naming luxating patella, HereditaryPlus, bilateral pre-existing wording. Checked October 23, 2026.
- Embrace, What is the waiting period for orthopedic conditions: 180 day orthopedic exclusion period for dogs naming patellar luxation; Orthopedic Exam and Waiver Process. Checked October 23, 2026.
- Fetch, waiting period FAQ: Orthopedic definition naming patellar luxation; six month wait; vet exam waiver for knees. Checked October 23, 2026.
- Prudent Pet sample policy page: Six month knee and ligament wait naming luxation of the patella; waiver to 30 days. Checked October 23, 2026.
- Healthy Paws FAQ, Lemonade waiting period explainer, MetLife waiting period article: Healthy Paws: medial patellar luxation as a condition not considered cured. Lemonade (lemonade.com/pet/explained/waiting-periods/): 30 day orthopedic wait and hereditary wording. MetLife (metlifepetinsurance.com/blog/pet-insurance/no-waiting-period/): no separate orthopedic wait. Checked October 23, 2026.
- Trupanion policy form TRU-00001, August 2011 edition: Bilateral exclusion naming luxating patella; 5 and 30 day waits; 18 month look-back. Trupanion's current FAQ pages were not available. Checked October 23, 2026.
- Trupanion, Where can I see actual claims and veterinary cost examples?: Patellar luxation surgery and pain medications $4,012 from member claims; page modified October 3, 2025. Checked October 23, 2026.
- Nationwide older sample forms: Superior Plan VS-21 (02-17) and Major Medical Plan VS-G-3-CA (02-15): Patellar luxation among excluded musculoskeletal disorders; ineligible-conditions allowances of $275 and $550 (petinsurance.com/images/VSSimages/media/pdf/Major_Medical_Plan_VPI_2008.pdf). Checked October 23, 2026.
- Embrace coverage FAQ: Statement of the bilateral rule: other side not covered if pre-existing; covered if the first was covered. Checked October 23, 2026.
- MetLife Pet, Luxating patella in dogs: Insurer marketing page: $1,000 to $5,000 per leg and a claim illustration of about $4,950 billed and $4,450 reimbursed. Checked October 23, 2026.
- NAIC Pet Insurance Model Act (#633): Section 3D orthopedic list including patellar luxation; 3F pre-existing; 5B waiting period ceiling and exam waiver. Checked October 23, 2026.
- CoverMyBreed breed profiles and insurer directory: OFA and VetCompass figures and MoneyGeek anchors as attributed on each profile (reviewed October 4, 2026); directory records verified October 22, 2026. Checked October 22, 2026.
Sample forms are single-state examples and two of the Nationwide forms are older editions, so the table is a dated record rather than an offer. The worked example uses made-up round numbers. The clinical statements describe the condition in general and say nothing about any individual dog or when a vet should see one.